Happy New Year!

I wanted to wish everyone a happy new year.  May it be filled with blessings!  I can’t believe that it is already 2012.  I love the new year though.  Even though it is just another day it feels like a new beginning.  A chance to do things differently.

I don’t do new years resolutions.  I prefer to call them new years goals.  I quit making any plans a long time ago since all my plans were replaced with better ones by God, so I make goals.

This year my first goal is to read the Bible more.  I really don’t have a problem with praying.  I am doing it constantly throughout the day.  When it comes to reading God’s Word though, I am lacking.  It seems like it’s hard to find the time while taking care of a house and 4 kids!  I know that things would work out better if I would make myself take the time, but it’s just hard to do.

My next goal is to be healthier.  I mostly need to exercise and just take better care of my body in general.  I hate to exercise!  I know I need to but I just don’t want to put the time and effort into doing so!  Again I know the benefits and I know that if I would do it I would feel better, but really I’m just lazy!  I plan to work on discipline this year.

My next goal is to read more books!  I would like to read at least 10 books this year.  That may not seem like that many, and hopefully I can do more than that, but I know my life and schedule (and discipline) and want to be realistic.  Right now I am trying to focus on books that will help me to be a better mom, wife, home-school teacher and daughter for my Lord.  I read several excellent books last year that really helped me and I am looking forward to continuing that again this year.

My last goal is to finish writing my book.  It will be a project that will take a few years to accomplish to get to the finished product, but I would really love to at least get it written this year.  I discovered that I love to write and have about 3 book ideas that I hope to get published, but finding the time to write is difficult.

I love this season of my life.  I love being a wife and mother and pianist and singer and writer.  God has blessed us so much.  I am glad to see 2011 go and looking forward to what God has in store for this year of new beginnings!  May God bless you all with the best year of your life!

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;  In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.  –  Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Reply

