Mommy Meltdowns

Have you ever seen a young child just have a complete meltdown?  You know the drill, sobbing, screaming, maybe flailing about and just uncontrollable.  You expect that from time to time with a 2 year old, but not from a mommy right.  We are always supposed to be cool, calm and collected and always have patience and compassion right?!  I wish I could do that, but sometimes I find myself acting like a 2 year old.  It just seems like some days the kids just pinpoint every raw nerve you have and jump on it over and over again.  It’s been one of those kinds of weeks for me, and I have a found myself screaming, pitching fits, and even at one point laying on the floor sobbing.  I know, I’m not to proud of this.  Sometimes I just lose control, and I know even in the midst of my tantrum that it is not the right way to act, but when you’ve nicely reminded them to pick something up 3 times before and when they don’t do it and it finally gets destroyed by a younger sibling and has to go in the trash instead of the shelf it just tends to get me riled up.  Why can’t they just listen!  Why can’t I just listen….  I’m better than I used to be, but far, far from where I need to be and I just keep praying and asking forgiveness from God and my children and try better to keep my cool the next time that burning frustration arises in me.  He’s still working on me.

Leave a Reply

